Community

Our Stories

Wonder Woman: Meet Physical Activist Courtney Maier Burbela

Wonder Woman: Meet Physical Activist Courtney Maier Burbela

The countdown has begun for Housing Works’ civil rights march on two wheels, BRAKING AIDS® Ride. From September 12 – 14, physical activists of all stripes will come together to ride 285 miles from Boston to NYC to raise funds and awareness for our mission to end AIDS and homelessness. One of our most creative activists, Courtney Maier Burbela is celebrating her tenth year and nearly 3,000 miles logged to honor close friends she lost. Over the years, Courtney employed her marketing expertise – from throwing a pig roast to getting “tattooed” – to raise money for the Ride. Read below to learn more about this wonder woman:

Housing Works: Tell us a little about yourself – where you live, what you do for a living.
Courtney Maier Burbela: I work for myself – I’m a Marketing Consultant specializing in visual arts. I live in New Jersey with my awesome husband Pete and his crazy 87 year-old father Nestor.

HW: How did you first hear about and become involved with Housing Works?
CMB: This year will be my 10th year riding the BRAKING AIDS Ride. I got involved with Housing Works through the ride. After my first fundraising event for HW, I realized that one of my dear friends lived in Cylar House. Knowing someone whose life was saved because of Housing Works made all of this really personal for me.

HW: What inspires and motivates you to participate in physical challenge events?
CMB: I did my first 300-mile ride in 2001. I had never done anything that physically challenging and I wanted to experience myself as an athlete. Now I ride to keep moving, and for bragging rights.

HW: Any tips on fundraising and/or training that you’d like to share?