Community

Our Stories

Endorphin Rush: A Chat with Physical Challenge Activist Kristofer Velasquez

Endorphin Rush: A Chat with Physical Challenge Activist Kristofer Velasquez

A physical challenge activist for over four years and part of Team BRAKING AIDS® for two; Kristofer Velasquez is running 13.1 miles to benefit Housing Works on March 16 at the NYC Half-Marathon, and will bike 285 miles in September as part of our BRAKING AIDS™ Ride. We recently spoke to Kristofer about his motivation for participating in these challenges.

Housing Works: Tell us a little bit about yourself.
Kristofer Velasquez: I was born and raised in Sacramento, California. I attended UC Berkeley, and lived in San Francisco for a few years after college. I moved to New York in 2005, and have worked for the department store Lord & Taylor for 8 years. I am currently the Buyer of Ladies Better Sportswear. I have been a Brooklyn resident for 6 years, and love my Clinton Hill neighborhood. Beyond work, my life is filled with books and bikes, and the beach in the summer.

HW: How did you hear about Housing Works?